About

I support executives and their teams in future-oriented change processes towards meaning-driven companies.

Executive coach, speaker, advisor

The best way to get to know each other is through direct conversation. I had one of these in July 2020 with Katrin Freshness in our home office in Munich. We have recorded the conversation. Have a look! 

“My aim is to get people into action by bringing the potential of individuals and of teams and organizations to light. This frees up a lot of power and makes it possible to generate impact sustainably and effectively. ”- Monika Smith

interview

Monika, you have clearly defined your “purpose”, as you call it. When did you discover this for yourself? 

The question of what I can give the world has occupied me since childhood. Back then I thought about why I am here and what I can give the world with my personality.

When I was young, I asked myself about my personal strengths: What am I good at? How can I be effective in the world?

But the discovery of my purpose was still a few decades away. As so often, I discovered it in the course of a change in my life and now formulate it as follows: To bring the individual potential of people and teams to light and to support them in making the best of it for them.

"There were some
Key moments in mine
Life. Such was the birth
my second son
where it was about life and death.

Then I was shown
how precious life is and which
Responsibility we bear
to make something out of it! "

What distinguishes your work from Monika?

It is the combination of soft and hard topics. I am very performance-oriented, at the same time I am concerned with the purpose and impact of people and organizations. I don't think the mixture is so common.

And what would you call your strengths?

I think it's essentially this mix of intuition and mind. I have a good sense of people and situations. At the same time, I recognize larger relationships and love juggling numbers. Last but not least, I have a "cosmic" feeling for trends and the future. 

The joy of change runs like a thread through your life. How do you manage to stay authentic? 

In my base I am extremely loyal to myself, I think in my deepest heart I am even a downright conservative person:

I need my home, maintain my partnership and look after my family. Only when I have them do I feel ready for the next step of change, which I am always trying to do. I don't like stagnation. But I never completely reinvented myself in depth. Moni remains Moni.

A secure basis for change is needed. In your experience, is this also true for organizations? 

Absolutely! A clear awareness of your own identity and a firm basis of values is the best prerequisite for successful change processes. The clearer this is anchored in the company, the more resilient or willing to change a company becomes. 

You are an entrepreneurial person and have already started a number of activities. Can you name learning experiences from it? 

Yes, there were quite a few! Perhaps the most drastic I had in connection with the company that I brought together with my brother, a micro-conglomerate for lifestyle products. Everything went great, we worked well together, hired employees, grew and continuously expanded our business. Then came the first big wave of digitization and we became, so to speak, victims of the online shop advance. In retrospect it is clear to us that we have not had enough of our purpose in mind. It would not have protected us from the competition of the online giants, but maybe new business areas would have resulted from the orientation towards our purpose. We would surely have been better prepared for the changes in the market. 

What do people get who work with you?

First of all, I immerse myself in the world of my customers and explore weak points and potential. I see myself here as a kind of medium. Through intuition and targeted inquiries based on my professional experience, I recognize weaknesses and potential. I then link these with impulses from conferences and think tanks. It is not infrequent that real eye-opening experiences are created. With this I get people and teams over a threshold. That's when I usually get goosebumps. Then I know: something new has now been created!

In your work as a consultant and facilitator, you focused strongly on the topic of purpose. How do you define the topic of purpose for you?

Purpose for me is the individual drive that enables me to bring about a positive change in this world, a mixture of heart, mind and the necessary means to realize the vision.

You're going a lot further than Simon Sinek, right?

Yes, with his Golden Circle, Simon Sinek has created a model whose strength lies in simplicity. But he stays with the Why, that is, for what. For me, the Why is the platform on which I stand and from which I can define my direction. That's where my main interest begins: How can I make my purpose measurable and thus generate impact?

And how would you define your own purpose?

It is always a little difficult for me to break down into one sentence, but I try it here: my purpose is to reveal the individual potential of people and teams and to support them in making the best of it for them.

As you say about yourself, you have a “cosmic sense” for trends and the future. Where do you see our society heading?

I can imagine a lot here. In my utopia I see our society as a global community with a generally valid value system in which we support each other and we rebuild our earth together. I hope that we can make our structures and systems so dynamic that they remain or become stable. Ideally, artificial intelligence will support us in this. I hope that as many as possible have asked themselves the question of meaning by then and have found a satisfactory solution for themselves. To actively shape the world instead of just living on it.

"I see myself as
Medium for the drive of
People and organizations
to tickle it out and make it tangible.

When the time comes, get it
I have goose bumps - a reliable indicator
that we're up to the purpose
the trail has come! "

What should your grandchildren tell you about Monika?

I can't answer that for you, I don't have a big all-encompassing vision. I live in the flow, want to fully enjoy my life and will continue to actively shape the world. The grandchildren and hopefully great-grandchildren may then say: Look, the brisk grandma there - she's already crazy. Always on the go, with a smile on her face and she makes the best apple pie there is. When she's there ...!

I believe that every company must have a purpose and should take advantage of it to be viable and worthy in the future.

My concern is to promote companies with meaning and value and to integrate purpose as a profit formula in companies. 

I stand for: 

authenticity
empathy
effectiveness

Creativity
IMPLEMENTATION STRENGTH
Rethink

“Purpose is the cultural counterpart to a company's vision. Assuming an existing corporate strategy that includes the topics of mission, vision, value system, business plan and innovation. "
“Digital transformation ability and the willingness to transform are essential for survival. The relationship between man and machine will play a major role in this. ”
"The digital transformation is the evolution to speed with increasing complexity and complexity due to technical influences."

Monika Smith

The interview took place in Munich in June 2020. Run by and with Katrin Freshness, http://www.frische-biografien.de/

Expertise and partnerships

About

Führungskräfte und deren Teams begleite ich bei umfassenden, zukunftsgerichteten Veränderungsprozessen hin zum Sinn getriebenen Unternehmen.

Executive Coach, Speaker, Advisor

Am besten lernt man sich im direkten Gespräch kennen. Solches eines hatte ich im Juli 2020 mit Katrin Frische, in unserem Home Office in München. Wir haben das Gespräch aufgezeichnet. Schauen Sie mal rein! 

„Mein Anspruch ist es, Menschen ins Tun bringen, indem ich das Potenzial Einzelner und von Teams und Organisationen ans Tageslicht befördere. Das setzt eine Menge Power frei und ermöglicht es, nachhaltig und wirkungsvoll Impact zu generieren.“ – Monika Smith

Interview

Monika, du hast deinen „Sinnzweck“, wie du es nennst, klar definiert. Wann hast du diesen für dich entdeckt? 

Die Frage, was ich der Welt geben kann, beschäftigt mich schon seit meiner Kindheit. Ich habe mir damals überlegt, warum ich hier bin und was ich mit meiner Persönlichkeit der Welt geben kann.

Als Jugendliche kam dann die Frage nach meinen persönlichen Stärken dazu: Was kann ich gut? Wie kann ich wirksam werden in der Welt?

Aber die Entdeckung meines Purpose hat noch einige Jahrzehnte auf sich warten lassen. Wie so oft, habe ich ihn im Rahmen eines Umbruchs in meinem Leben entdeckt und formuliere ihn jetzt so: Das individuelle Potential von Menschen und Teams ans Tageslicht zu befördern und sie dabei zu unterstützen, daraus das für sie Beste zu machen.

„Es gab einige
Schlüsselmomente in meinem
Leben. Ein solcher war die Geburt
meines zweiten Sohnes,
wo es um Leben und Tod ging.

Da wurde mir vor Augen geführt,
wie kostbar das Leben ist und welche
Verantwortung wir tragen,
daraus etwas zu machen!“

Was zeichnet deine Arbeit aus Monika?

Es ist die Kombination aus weichen und harten Themen. Ich bin sehr performance-orientiert, gleichzeitig treiben mich Fragen nach Purpose und Impact von Menschen und Organisationen um. Die Mischung ist denke ich nicht so häufig zu finden.

Und was würdest du als deine Stärken bezeichnen?

Ich denke, es ist im wesentlichen diese Mischung aus Intuition und Verstand. Ich habe ein gutes Gespür für Menschen und Situationen. Gleichzeitig erkenne ich größere Zusammenhänge und liebe es, mit Zahlen zu jonglieren. Nicht zuletzt habe ich ein „kosmisches“ Gespür für Trends und Zukunft. 

Die Freude an der Veränderung zieht sich wie ein roter Faden durch dein Leben. Wie schaffst du es dabei authentisch zu bleiben? 

In meiner Basis bin ich mir selbst überaus treu, ich glaube, in meinem tiefsten Innern bin ich sogar ein geradezu konservativer Mensch:

Ich brauche mein Zuhause, pflege meine Partnerschaft und kümmere mich um meine Familie. Nur wenn ich die habe, fühle ich mich bereit für den nächsten Schritt der Veränderung, zu dem ich immer wieder ansetze. Stagnation kann ich nicht leiden. Aber in der Tiefe habe ich mich nie ganz neu erfunden. Moni bleibt Moni.

Es braucht eine sichere Basis für Veränderung. Gilt das deiner Erfahrung nach auch für Organisationen? 

Unbedingt! Ein klares Bewusstsein der eigenen Identität und eine feste Wertebasis ist die beste Voraussetzung für gelingende Changeprozesse. Je klarer das im Unternehmen verankert ist, um so resilienter bzw. veränderungsfreudiger wird ein Unternehmen. 

Du bist ein unternehmerisch denkender Mensch und hast schon einige Unternehmungen an den Start gebracht. Kannst du Lernerfahrungen daraus benennen? 

Ja, da gab es so einige! Die vielleicht einschneidendste hatte ich im Zusammenhang mit dem Unternehmen, das ich mit meinem Bruder zusammen geführt habe, ein Mikromischkonzern für Lifestyleprodukte. Alles lief super, wir arbeiteten gut zusammen, stellten Mitarbeiter ein, wuchsen und bauten unser Geschäft kontinuierlich weiter aus. Dann kam die erste große Digitalisierungswelle und wir wurden gewissermaßen Opfer des Online-Shop-Vormarsches. Rückblickend ist mir klar, dass wir unseren Purpose nicht genügend im Blick gehabt haben. Zwar hätte der uns nicht vor der Konkurrenz der Online-Riesen geschützt, aber vielleicht hätten sich neue Geschäftsfelder aus der Orientierung an unserem Sinnzweck ergeben. Sicher wären wir damit besser für die Veränderungen am Markt gewappnet gewesen. 

Was bekommen Menschen, die mit dir zusammen arbeiten?

Erstmal tauche ich ganz in die Welt meiner Kunden ein und ergründe Schwachstellen und Potenziale. Ich verstehe mich hier als eine Art Medium. Durch Intuition und gezielte Nachfragen basierend auf meinem beruflichen Erfahrungsschatz erkenne ich Schwachstellen und Potenziale. Diese verknüpfe ich dann mit Impulsen von Konferenzen und Thinktanks. Nicht selten entstehen dadurch echte Aha-Erlebnisse. Damit hieve ich Menschen und Teams über eine Schwelle drüber. Das ist der Augenblick, an dem ich in der Regel eine ordentliche Gänsehaut bekomme. Dann weiß ich: Jetzt ist etwas Neues entstanden!

Du hast dich in deiner Arbeit als Beraterin und Facilitator stark auf das Thema Purpose fokussiert. Wie definierst du das Thema Sinnzweck für dich?

Purpose ist für mich der individuelle Antrieb, der mir ermöglicht, eine positive Veränderung auf dieser Welt herbei zu führen, eine Mischung aus Herz, Verstand und den nötigen Mitteln, um die Vision zu realisieren.

Damit gehst du noch einmal ein ganzes Stück weiter als Simon Sinek, richtig?

Ja, Simon Sinek hat mit seinem Golden Circle ein Modell geschaffen, dessen Stärke in der Einfachheit liegt. Aber er bleibt bei dem Why, also dem Wozu, stehen. Für mich ist das Why die Plattform, auf der ich stehe und von der aus ich meine Stoßrichtung definieren kann. Da beginnt mein Hauptinteresse erst: Wie kann ich meinen Purpose messbar machen und damit Impact generieren?

Und wie würdest du deinen eigenen Purpose definieren?

Ich tue mich immer etwas schwer, dass auf einen Satz runterzubrechen, aber ich versuche es hier mal: Mein Purpose besteht darin, das individuelle Potential von Menschen und Teams ans Tageslicht zu befördern und sie dabei zu unterstützen, daraus das für sie beste zu machen.

Du hast wie du selbst von dir sagst, ein „kosmisches Gespür“ für Trends und Zukunft. Wo siehst du unsere Gesellschaft hinsteuern?

Ich kann mir hier einiges vorstellen. In meiner Utopie sehe ich unsere Gesellschaft als eine Weltgemeinschaft mit einem allgemein gültigen Wertesystem, in dem wir uns gegenseitig stützen und wir unsere Erde gemeinsam wieder aufbauen. Ich hoffe, dass wir unsere Strukturen und Systeme so weit dynamisieren können, dass sie stabil bleiben bzw. werden. Idealerweise unterstützen die künstlichen Intelligenzen uns darin. Ich hoffe, dass möglichst viele sich bis dahin die Sinnfrage gestellt haben und eine befriedigende Lösung für sich gefunden haben. Um aktiv die Welt zu gestalten, statt nur auf ihr zu leben.

„Ich verstehe mich als
Medium dafür, den Antrieb von
Menschen und Organisationen
herauszukitzeln und erlebbar zu machen.

Wenn es so weit ist, dann bekomme
ich eine Gänsehaut - ein verlässlicher Indikator,
dass wir dem Purpose auf
die Spur gekommen sind!“

Was sollen deine Enkel mal über dich erzählen, Monika?

Das kann ich dir nicht beantworten, ich habe keine große allumfassende Vision. Ich lebe im Flow, möchte mein Leben voll auskosten und werde die Welt weiter aktiv mitgestalten. Die Enkel und hoffentlich Ur-Enkel sagen dann vielleicht: Schau, die flotte Oma da – bissl crazy ist sie ja schon. Immer unterwegs, mit einem Lächeln auf den Lippen und sie macht den besten Apfelkuchen den es gibt. Wenn sie mal da ist…!

Ich glaube daran, dass jedes Unternehmen einen Purpose haben muss und sich dessen zu Nutze machen sollte, um in Zukunft überlebensfähig und würdig zu sein.

Mein Anliegen ist es, Unternehmen mit Sinn und Wert zu fördern und Purpose als Gewinnformel in Unternehmen zu integrieren. 

Ich stehe für: 

Authentizität
Empathie
Effektivität

Kreativität
UMSETZUNGSSTÄRKE
Umdenken

„Purpose ist das kulturelle Pendant zur Vision eines Unternehmens.  Unter Voraussetzung einer existenten Unternehmensstrategie,  die die Themen Mission, Vision, Wertesystem, Businessplan und Innovation umfasst. “
„Digitale Transformationsfähigkeit und die Bereitschaft zur Transformation sind überlebenswichtig. Die Beziehung zwischen Mensch und Maschine wird dabei eine tragende Rolle spielen.“
„Die digitale Transformation ist die Evolution auf Speed mit zunehmender Komplexität und Vielschichtigkeit auf Grund technischer Einflüsse.“

Monika Smith

Das Gespräch fand im Juni 2020 in München statt. Geführt von und mit Katrin Frische, http://www.frische-biografien.de/

Expertise und Parterschaften